How To Post Links

7 replies [Last post]
KevinK's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-07-15

Pet Profiles

This is something I've been meaning to post for a while, not sure if everyone knows this.  Most of the time, when I see a link in someone's post, and I click it, it takes you away from this site and to the site that was linked.  I often forget that happened, close the window when I'm done, and then wonder where GD went.

When you want to post a link, if you click the "link button" (for those that don't know, it's the earth with the little chain in front of it) and paste your link in the url box, then you click on the "Target" tab, and set that to new window, your link will now open in a new window.  This will keep the page on GD up, and just like it says a new window will pop up with the new page.

cisco9510's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-11-10

Pet Profiles

Thanks Kevin

sweetpea's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-10-25

Pet Profiles

Thanks Kev!  I find that annoying too.  I usually just right click on the link and click open in new tab.

Legend of Zelda's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-12-23

Pet Profiles

Ahh, I usually click the link with my "scroller" on my mouse and it opens up in a new tab. Or when I'm using my tablet, I press ctrl+right click to open up a new tab. I know all these crazy shortcuts for opening links lol. I spend too much time on this machine >^<

AlphaAdmin's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-01-18

Pet Profiles

With most browsers, including Internet Explorer, Firefox, and Chrome, if you want to open a link in another window, you can click the link while holding down the Control/Command key.

DJ&#039;s Dad's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-10-04

Pet Profiles

I just go to the link, then hit the arrow to go back to the previous page to get back here to G.D.

cisco9510's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-11-10

Pet Profiles

me to paul!

PhilNCaine's picture
Offline
Joined: 2011-03-17

Pet Profiles

Right click your mouse, a sub menu appears

open in a new tab

open in a new window

Save as

and more